To register and login, use your Google, Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, or OpenID credentials.

This is allowing us to stop most spam registrations. We've deleted most of the spam accounts that got through, and we're closely watching for more.

Audio batch processing on Android

NitroooNitrooo Posts: 21
edited January 2013 in Pd Everywhere

Hi all,
I'm a general programmer, currently focusing on Android mobile development.
I'd like to realize an app that records a short voice message and lets you hear it back with different distorsion effects applied on.
I just need classic filters (reverb, multiband compression, pitch shifting...), but since I have no theory background on signal processing, I've been looking for a library with prebuilt effects or a way to design them in pure java in a relatively easy way (I mean, without reading 30 books on DSP).
Now, why I'm writing this post? Well, in my search for such library I came across pd and I found it amazing, especially because I'm fascinated by generative software and art and I see great potential in that sense, maybe in future projects. I've read most of this book http://www.pd-tutorial.com and other tutorials and played around with pd. So I decided to figure a solution for my problem through pd even if it doesn't fit my needs so well because I essentially need non-realtime batch processing. On the other hand it looks like I would be able to find all the filters I need, ready to use, apart from little adjustments.
So, that's what I need to do:

Android mic -> original sound in array -> filter chain 1..n -> "wet" sound 1..n in array_1..n

Then the user of the app would be able to play each of the processed sounds by tapping different buttons and save them to disk.