To register and login, use your Google, Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, or OpenID credentials.

This is allowing us to stop most spam registrations. We've deleted most of the spam accounts that got through, and we're closely watching for more.

PdAudio vs PdService in Android app with long running background service

Nagasaki45Nagasaki45 Posts: 13
edited February 2013 in Pd Everywhere

Hello,

This is my first time for writing here. I'm an Android newbie and making my first steps with libpd. I've read Peter's book (which I think is great) and these days work on an Android app.

The main activity of my app is used solely for starting and stopping a long running service. The service has a broadcast receiver that receive Bluetooth messages and send them to Pd patch. Right now I initiate libpd using PdAudio and everything works fine until the screen is turns off. Then the service continue to run but the audio became very "glitchy". By the way, the service is a foreground service.

I'm not sure in which way to go to solve this problem. The options I have in mind are these: *) From my service bind to PdService as described in peter's book. With this solution I end up with 2 background services, one for the Bluetooth work (and libpd initialization) and one for running libpd, isn't it too much?

*) Extend PdService to have the Bluetooth functionality. In this case the problem is that I need to call functions to PdService from the main activity, which I don't want to use a lot and in fact I can't rely on when the screen turns off.

What do you think?

Thanks, and sorry for my bad English, Tom

Answers

• pbrinkmannpbrinkmann Posts: 686 ✭✭

Try this in your onCreate method: getWindow().addFlags(WindowManager.LayoutParams.FLAG_SHOW_WHEN_LOCKED);

I don't think there's anything wrong with having more than one foreground service.

• Thanks for the answer.