To register and login, use your Google, Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, or OpenID credentials.

This is allowing us to stop most spam registrations. We've deleted most of the spam accounts that got through, and we're closely watching for more.

libpd, processing, and banging my head against the wall...

geeetarguygeeetarguy Posts: 6
edited April 2013 in Pd Everywhere

I have been coding a sampling-synth in pd. I was planning on doing my GUI in Processing, with OSC, but am having an issue getting Puredatap5 to work.

I've cleared all trace of Processing and its folders from my Mac, and tried different versions of both Processing and the different versions of Puredatap5 floating around with no avail...

Does it currently work? Or should I be reassessing using Processing all together?

If there's any way you could point me in the right direction, I'd be ecstatic! I'm still learning to code, so I'm not really tied to any language in particular(though, I'm loving Pd...). Is there a better one for GUI that is okay with libpd and OSC? Python? Lua?

Thank you in advance!

Answers

• berengerberenger Posts: 56

well it depends on what plateform you target and how complicated you pd patch is.

For instance on android it is possible to developp with only both tools as you want but you need to install eclipse to unite processing and pd. In eclipse It should be possible to work straight for desktop building a java application though I didn't try that already.

If you pd patch is simple you can also go the javascript way with webpd : https://github.com/sebpiq/WebPd

I was in the same spot as you last year, and chose to keep learning processing, which wasn't a bad choice, since I can developp gui for several plateforms with one language. But maybe there are other alternatives worth trying.